IHC Medveščak Mladi // KHL
Hrvatski English
Facebook Instagram YouTube Twitter

Bears made history

Reports 26.08.2016.
Bears made history

Before the return to Zagreb for the KHL home opener, the Bears have collected six out of six possible points. Those six points came from, until then, two undefeatable fortresses. After in Lada Arena, tonight the Bears have secured a second win the the season and first ever in TatNeft Arena in Kazan. The Bears were victorious with the final result 1:3.

"We were ready to play. I loved how we competed and how the boys stuck together. We knew we had to play to our strengths to give ourselves a chance to win, and that's exactly what we did. Special units played a big role and our penalty kill was fantastic. Danny Taylor played lights out and kept us in the game and gave a chance to win," Medvescak's Head Coach Gordie Dwyer said after the game.

"It was a very physical and tough game, but at the end of the day we showed our character. This was a true team win, we stuck together and pulled the win as a team. This is how we want to play and the character we want to have this season," said Derek Smith, the first scorer in the game.

Brandon McMillan and Bobby Butler joined him on the scoreboard for the Bears. The hosts got their only goal of the game with seven minutes left, curtesy of Azevedo.

Video source: www.khl.ru

Next game for the Bears will be the first one of the new season at home. In their home opener the Bears will face HC Sochi on Monday, 29 August starting at 6:45 PM at Dom sportova.


KHL, TatNeft Arena, Kazan, Tatarstan


18:37 0-1 Smith PP1

20:24 0-2 McMillan (Mertl)

30:23 0-3 Butler (Brule)

52:10 1-3 Azevedo (Sekac) SH1

SHOTS ON GOAL: 41 - 25

PENALITIES: 29 min – 59 min

AK BARS KAZAN: Galimov, Jarullin, Batirshin, Glinkin, Popov, Varnakov, Ohtamaa, Musin, Lukoyanov, Tkachov, Tokranov, Zaharchuk, Sekac, Zhukov, Azevedo, Abrosimov, Lazarev, Svitov, Gluhov

KHL MEDVESCAK ZAGREB: Taylor, Hovinen, Butler, Brule, Katic, Morrisonn, Parlett, McMillan, Mertl, Pare, Smith, Sauve, Mahbod, Genoway, Giroux, Bezina, Larkin, Glumac, Smejkal, Bolduc, Hedberg